Missile War Monitor: More than 600 drones fly at Moscow, flights restricted at Vnukovo and Domodedovo

More than 600 drones flew at Moscow overnight and flights were restricted at Vnukovo and Domodedovo airports, Mayor Sergei Sobyanin and the aviation authorities said on October 29.
Sobyanin said 613 drones flew at the Moscow region between 20:30 on October 28 and 07:00 on October 29, that most were neutralised on distant approaches and that 231 were destroyed over the region, Vedomosti reported. Emergency services worked where debris fell, and no damage or casualties had been reported at the time of writing. Vnukovo, Domodedovo and Zhukovsky operated under temporary restrictions and were later back to normal, the paper said.
Russia's defence ministry said air defences destroyed 1,214 Ukrainian drones overnight over 19 regions, including the Moscow region, Bashkortostan and Udmurtia, Interfax reported. In September air defences reported shooting down more than 1,600 drones in a record attack on the Moscow region.
SOURCING NOTE: a defence ministry claim with no time window and no breakdown by region. Volgograd, Crimea and Krasnodar were not among the regions listed. The September figure is as given by Al Jazeera.
Russia sent 112 drones, 40 of them jet-powered, at Ukraine from 18:00 on October 28, and 97 were downed or suppressed, with hits at seven locations and debris at five, the air force said, UNN reported. No missiles were reported.
Refinery strikes
Nationwide: no new strike on a Russian oil refinery was reported for October 28 or the night of October 28-29 at the time of writing. The Russian side of last night is not yet fully reported.
Nationwide, capacity: plants reported halted or cut so far in October account for about 14.8 mn tonnes a year, or 5% of Russia's 327 mn tonnes nameplate capacity, by IntelliNews' refinery ledger, and up to 145.8 mn tonnes, or 45%, if halts reported earlier still hold. Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak put capacity under repair at about 10% in early September.
EDITION NOTE: no refinery row changed in this edition. The ledger date moved to October 29 and the table was regenerated; the totals are unchanged. A social media account claimed refinery attacks have slowed and runs have risen in the past two weeks; no newswire or data provider was found reporting it, and it is not printed in the body.
Metal plants hit
Nationwide: no new strike on a Ukrainian steel, iron ore, coke, ferroalloy or non-ferrous plant was reported for October 28 or the night of October 28-29 at the time of writing. The metals ledger is unchanged.
Oil depots, factories and military targets in Russia
Moscow: see above.
Bashkortostan: air defences shot down eight drones over the territory of an enterprise in Sterlitamak and debris fell on the site, causing "minor damage", Mayor Emil Shaimardanov said, adding that the plant was operating normally, Interfax reported. He did not name the plant. The town was hit before in November 2025.
SOURCING NOTE: no casualties were reported. A Ukrainian government communications channel described the target as a producer of a component for Kevlar and armour materials; not independently verified and no company was named. Lenta.ru also mentioned industrial sites in Salavat; no detail was found.
Volgograd region: NASA's FIRMS satellite system recorded a large fire at the Marinovka military airfield, a launch base for Russian glide-bomb attacks, after a drone attack overnight, Ukraine's Centre for Strategic Communications said.
SOURCING NOTE: a fire detected by satellite and reported by a Ukrainian government channel and a monitoring account; not a confirmed hit. No statement from Governor Andrei Bocharov or Ukraine's General Staff was found, and the defence ministry did not list Volgograd.
Tula region: 42 drones were destroyed over the region overnight, RIA Novosti reported.
Bryansk region: a Ukrainian drone hit a railbus on the Unecha-Novozybkov route at Klintsy station on October 28, damaging the driver's cab, and the crew and passengers were evacuated to a shelter with no one hurt, Governor Yegor Kovalchuk said, Vedomosti reported.
Kursk and Bryansk regions: Ukrainian forces hit a Tor-2M air-defence system near Rzhava and a radar station near Maloye Gorodkovo in the Kursk region and an electronic warfare station near Semyachki in the Bryansk region, as well as a logistics depot near Valerianivka in occupied Donetsk, the General Staff said on October 28, Interfax-Ukraine reported.
SOURCING NOTE: a Ukrainian military claim covering October 27 and the night of October 27-28; no Russian confirmation was found.
Occupied Luhansk: explosions were reported overnight and internet provider Lugakom was reportedly damaged, 112.ua reported.
SOURCING NOTE: an outlet report only; no official statement was found.
Ukraine under fire
Nationwide: see the air force figures above.
Kharkiv: Russian forces struck an educational institution in the Saltivskyi district early on October 29, and a strike was confirmed in the Kholodnohirskyi district with a fire at the site, Mayor Ihor Terekhov said, Ukrinform reported. No casualties were reported in the first accounts.
A drone strike in the Osnovianskyi district on the afternoon of October 28 killed a 60-year-old man and set off a fire, Ukrinform reported.
Dnipropetrovsk region: a strike on an industrial enterprise in Dnipro caused a fire and injured a 35-year-old man, and more than 40 attacks on four districts injured five people, including a 15-year-old boy in Pavlohrad, regional head Oleksandr Hanzha said on October 28, the Kyiv Post reported. Homes, an administrative building, a warehouse and a shop were damaged in Nikopol.
Rivne region: a strike on a civilian enterprise in the Sarny district killed one man and caused a fire that was contained, regional head Oleksandr Koval said on October 28, the Kyiv Post reported. The weapon was not stated.
Chernihiv: a strike on a municipal veterinary centre at about 16:00 on October 28 wounded three women, aged 18, 40 and 59, the National Police said, the Kyiv Post reported.
Sumy region: drones injured eight civilians in the Sumy, Shostka and Putyvl communities on October 28, three of them in hospital, and a strike set a warehouse in Sumy on fire, regional head Oleh Hryhorov said, the Kyiv Post reported.
Volyn region: Russia's defence ministry said it struck the PS-330 Lutsk-Severnaya substation in Lutsk and a PS-330 substation in Kovel on October 28, along with a logistics centre in Kharkiv, Vedomosti reported.
Black Sea, ports: the ministry also said it hit a dry cargo ship sailing to Odesa with military and dual-use cargo, and destroyed a bulk carrier heading for Chornomorsk, Vedomosti reported.
SOURCING NOTE: Russian defence ministry claims; no Ukrainian confirmation of the substation strikes or of either vessel was found. The vessels were not named.
Kyiv region, update: Russian attacks cut the region's competitive warehouse stock by 34% from the start of the year to 1.05mn square metres by August, after it had recovered to about 1.6mn square metres in the first half, and effective rents for quality dry warehouses rose 8% to $5.70 per square metre a month, according to consultancy Expandia.
SOURCING NOTE: consultancy data; the publication that carried it was not identified.
Kherson region: the humanitarian truce around occupied Oleshky had held for 30 hours without incident, Ukraine's human rights ombudsman said, the Kyiv Post reported on October 28. The pause began at 03:00 Kyiv time on October 27 and runs to 22:59 on November 1. A diplomatic item, recorded in the register only.
SOURCING NOTE: the 30-hour figure was seen only in a social media post by the Kyiv Post; ombudsman Dmytro Lubinets was separately reported as saying the parties are complying with the agreements.
Black Sea: Turkish Defence Minister Yasar Guler urged Moscow and Kyiv to stop attacks on civilian vessels and said another commercial vessel had been attacked by three drones within Bulgaria's maritime jurisdiction, NEXTA reported on October 28.
SOURCING NOTE: reported by NEXTA; not matched elsewhere, and no Bulgarian statement was found. Not established whether it is a new attack or one of the earlier sinkings off Bulgaria on October 6 and 13.
Data centres, telecoms, media and R&D
Nationwide: no new strike on a data centre, telecoms operator, broadcaster or research site in Ukraine was reported for October 28 or the night of October 28-29 at the time of writing. Zelenskiy told The Sun on October 28 that Russia had attacked Ukrainian data centres "so many times" and that Ukraine responds with strikes of its own, Ukrinform reported.
EDITION NOTE: the Kharkiv educational institution hit on October 29 was not named and is carried under Ukraine under fire until it is identified.
Weapons and technology
Air defence: Ukraine has received on average 12 Patriot missiles a month from the US this year but fired 35 in October, with the other 23 found "in other areas", Zelenskiy said on October 28, Ukrinform reported. He asked for a "winter package" of air defence.
SOURCING NOTE: Zelenskiy did not say which countries supplied the 23 missiles. His remark that Ukraine would hold off refinery strikes if such a package were delivered is a diplomatic item and is not reported further here.
Russia: Ukraine's military intelligence (HUR) named 49 Russian and Belarusian companies and institutions involved in the Rassvet low-orbit satellite system, 23 of them, including Roscosmos, not sanctioned by any country, the Kyiv Independent reported on October 28. HUR said the system is being built mainly for military use, including Iskander-M command vehicles, with state bank VTB among its investors.
Vladimir Putin called Elon Musk "a genius" and said Russia was "only taking our first steps" against Starlink's more than 5,000 satellites, and that it is in close contact with American partners, including Musk, Reuters reported on October 28. Digital Development Minister Maksut Shadayev said a little more than 30 Rassvet satellites had been launched.
SOURCING NOTE: the HUR list was seen only as reported by the Kyiv Independent; it was not found on HUR's own site in this pass.
Poland: Poland will host the European PAC-3 missile maintenance facility, the only one outside the US, at a cost of about PLN1bn ($253mn), Deputy Defence Minister Magdalena Sobkowiak-Czarnecka said on October 27, Reuters reported. It is due to open in about a year.
Italy: Italy is delaying its 13th military aid package to Ukraine until after the US midterm elections on November 3, with the package ready but no dispatch date set, Censor.NET reported on October 27, citing Italian newspapers.
SOURCING NOTE: the Italian originals were not seen and no newswire has carried it; "delayed" is the reported wording, not "frozen". No Italian government comment was found.
ARSENAL GUIDE: Infographic guide to Russia and Ukraine's missile and drone arsenals
Arson and sabotage in the EU and the UK
Germany: prosecutors in Munich said two Belarusian men, aged 39 and 50, have been in custody since October 7 on suspicion of planning to set fire to a building or critical infrastructure in the Nuremberg area on behalf of "a foreign government or organisation" and for payment, Reuters reported on October 28. Romanian prosecutors want both extradited over the September 14 fire in Brasov.
SOURCING NOTE: the prosecutors did not name the country; Der Spiegel reported it was Russia. Attribution as stated, not tested in court.
Poland: counterterrorism officers in Warsaw detained a 25-year-old Ukrainian man suspected of involvement in the September fire in Brasov and of working with the two Belarusians held in Germany, RMF24 reported on October 28. He is to be handed to Romania under a European arrest warrant.
SOURCING NOTE: RMF24 reported he may have carried out reconnaissance for Russia and financed the operation; this is media reporting, not an official charge. The Brasov site has been described as an industrial park hosting a defence company and as the Carfil defence plant near a ROMARM arms factory.
Elsewhere: no new drone incursion, airport closure or rail sabotage in the EU or the UK was found for October 28-29 at the time of writing.
Tit for tat
Ukraine sent more than 600 drones at Moscow and hit a plant in Bashkortostan, while Russia claimed 1,214 drones downed over 19 regions and a fire burned at the Marinovka air base.
Russia sent 112 drones at Ukraine overnight, hitting seven locations and an educational institution in Kharkiv, after daytime strikes killed one in Kharkiv and one in the Rivne region.
Russian missile and drone production

Russian missile and drone output a month by class, on Ukraine's Main Directorate of Intelligence assessment of October 2026, with stockpiles in brackets.

Annual missile and drone output, Russia's current rate against Ukraine's 2027 targets.
The ledgers
The running ledgers are kept as six public spreadsheets at permanent addresses. The first three are non-exhaustive, every row is sourced, and where only one side has spoken the row says so. Defence ministry figures are recorded as claims, and in the sabotage ledger attribution is given exactly as the authorities state it and no further. The fourth tracks what has happened to Ukraine's steel, iron ore, coke, ferroalloy and non-ferrous plants since 2021, grouped by owner. The fifth tracks strikes on data centres, telecoms, media and research sites; the sixth tracks refinery strikes.
RUSSIA STRIKES LEDGER: Russian strikes on Ukraine's economic infrastructure, 568 rows
UKRAINE STRIKES LEDGER: Ukrainian strikes on economic infrastructure in Russia and occupied territory, 376 rows
ARSON & SABOTAGE LEDGER: Arson, sabotage and drone incursions in the EU and the UK, 100 rows
METAL STRIKES LEDGER: Ukraine's metals and mining assets: 2021 baseline against status in September 2026, 38 plants and mines
DATA CENTRE & TELECOM STRIKES LEDGER: Data centres, telecoms, media and research sites hit in Ukraine, 43 rows
REFINERY STRIKES LEDGER: Russian oil refineries hit, and how badly, 27 refineries
| Refinery | Region | Capacity (mn t/yr) | Strikes | Latest hit | Worst damage (0-4) | Status now |
| Ryazan | Ryazan region | 17.1 | 16 | October 15, 2026 | 4 | Partly operating: AT-6 primary unit halted after 15 Oct strike; AVT-1, AVT-3, AVT-4 running (October 16, 2026) |
| Moscow (Kapotnya) | Moscow | 12 | 5 | September 20, 2026 | 4 | Halted (September 22, 2026) |
| Kirishi (KINEF) | Leningrad region | 20.1 | 8 | August 30, 2026 | 4 | Halted (September 15, 2026) |
| Yaroslavl (Slavneft-YANOS) | Yaroslavl region | 15 | 15 | September 17, 2026 | 4 | Halted (September 17, 2026) |
| Nizhny Novgorod (Lukoil NORSI, Kstovo) | Nizhny Novgorod region | 17 | 10 | August 26, 2026 | 4 | Partly operating (~25%) (September 15, 2026) |
| Volgograd | Volgograd region | 14.8 | 12 | October 2, 2026 | 4 | Halted (October 6, 2026) |
| Saratov | Saratov region | 7 | 10 | September 11, 2026 | 4 | Halted (September 16, 2026) |
| Syzran | Samara region | 8.5 | 10 | September 15, 2026 | 4 | Halted (September 16, 2026) |
| Novokuibyshevsk | Samara region | 8.3 | 7 | August 22, 2026 | 4 | Unknown after 22 Aug 2026 fire (August 22, 2026) |
| Kuibyshev (Samara) | Samara region | 7 | 6 | September 23, 2026 | 4 | Unknown after 22 Sep 2026 strike (September 23, 2026) |
| Tuapse | Krasnodar region | 12 | 11 | May 27, 2026 | 4 | Halted (no restart reported) (April 21, 2026) |
| Afipsky | Krasnodar region | 6.2 | 15 | August 25, 2026 | 1 | No halt reported (August 27, 2026) |
| Ilsky | Krasnodar region | 6.6 | 14 | September 26, 2026 | 3 | Halt claimed by Ukraine's Fire Point, not confirmed (September 26, 2026) |
| Slavyansk ECO | Krasnodar region | 5.2 | 9 | September 13, 2026 | 4 | No halt reported after 13 Sep 2026 (September 17, 2026) |
| Krasnodar | Krasnodar region | 3 | 2 | August 30, 2025 | 1 | No halt reported (August 30, 2025) |
| Novoshakhtinsk | Rostov region | 5 | 7 | September 25, 2026 | 4 | Halted (temporarily suspended) (September 25, 2026) |
| Ufa group (Bashneft: Ufaneftekhim, Novoil, UNPZ) | Bashkortostan | 23.4 | 15 | September 23, 2026 | 2 | Operating, units under repair (September 22, 2026) |
| Salavat | Bashkortostan | 10 | 6 | October 8, 2026 | 4 | Halted (no restart reported) (August 14, 2026) |
| Nizhnekamsk (TANECO) | Tatarstan | 16 | 7 | September 13, 2026 | 4 | Unclear / partly operating (September 18, 2026) |
| Nizhnekamsk (TAIF-NK) | Tatarstan | 7.3 | 1 | July 8, 2026 | 0 | Operating (July 27, 2026) |
| Perm (Lukoil) | Perm region | 13.1 | 6 | September 25, 2026 | 4 | Halted (September 25, 2026) |
| Orsk | Orenburg region | 6.6 | 4 | August 11, 2026 | 4 | Halted (repairs up to six months) (August 13, 2026) |
| Omsk | Omsk region | 21 | 2 | October 8, 2026 | 4 | Unclear (restarted late July; later reported stopped) (September 15, 2026) |
| Tyumen (Antipinsky) | Tyumen region | 9 | 3 | July 25, 2026 | 4 | Halted (no restart reported) (July 28, 2026) |
| Ukhta (Lukoil) | Komi Republic | 4.2 | 3 | October 9, 2026 | 1 | Unknown (February 12, 2026) |
| Pervyi Zavod (Kaluga mini-refinery) | Kaluga region | 1.2 | 2 | May 10, 2024 | 1 | Operating (November 19, 2025) |
| Nevsky Mazut (St Petersburg) | St Petersburg | 1 | January 31, 2024 | 1 | Unknown (January 31, 2024) |
Russian oil refineries hit by Ukrainian strikes, as of October 29, 2026. Non-exhaustive; strike counts are floors. Damage: 0 claimed, no damage confirmed; 1 fire or minor damage; 2 secondary unit damaged, output reduced; 3 primary distillation unit damaged; 4 refinery halted. Plants reported halted or cut in Oct 2026 account for about 14.8 mn t/yr, about 5% of the 327 mn t/yr nameplate total; up to 145.8 mn t/yr (45%) if earlier halts still hold. Russian officials put capacity under repair at about 10% (Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak, early September). Status mostly from unnamed industry sources cited by Reuters. Full sourced ledger: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1AHjZvX9Hf-6jdKxcTE8Dw7f6O2_svY0kX54sqKPyU_s
This article was produced with the help of IntelliNews Lambda analytical tool
Unlock premium news, Start your free trial today.



